Français    English    Português  
 
 Español   Deutsche  
Basket amount:
Empty 0.00
Shipment fees 0.00
Total to pay 0.00
Basket contents

Benefits of saffron

(medicinal properties of saffron)

Saffron has been known since Antiquity as a remedy for all pains, without claiming to be a universal medicine, it is however a natural solution for many health problems in our times.

 

In the East, saffron was generally used to treat light to moderate depression; it had the reputation to bring cheerfulness and wisdom. Because of this, it is said that it has aphrodisiac properties for women.

 

In Morocco, saffron is part of a remedy passed down from mother to daughter still used to relieve tooth ache when babies get their first teeth (for external use: analgesic for gums), by massaging gums with a gold ring coated with honey and saffron, a lotion with natural antiseptic properties. In France, the well known Delabarre syrup took up the same recipe. Grand-mothers also relieved young women's painful periods by giving them tea or milk with saffron.

 

This spice has been well known for a very long time as a remedy against many ailments. It is among the richest plant sources of riboflavin (vitamin B2). It also contains an essential oil, safranal, and some crocetins which are carotenoids, that is to say pro-vitamin A.

 

Whereas pigments play a stimulating function in digestion (using from 0.5 to 1 g per litre of water, saffron stimulates digestion), safranal has a sedative action. In general, saffron is known to act on the nervous system: it would be both analgesic and tonic.

 

In traditional medicine, the plant is used as a stomachic. In Chinese medicine, it is employed as a painkiller for cramps and asthma and can also treat bruises.

 

It allows heart rate to slow down as well as lowering blood pressure and even stimulate respiration.    It is said to ease digestion, relieve the liver and also thin the blood.

 

At very high doses, saffron can be dangerous (>10 g), which would be an exceptional case as the usual proportion is from 0.01g to 0.02 g per person.  

Try it:

In hot drinks: crocus sativus soothes coughs and relieves colds. The right dose for hot drinks is: from 0.5 g to 1 g per litre of water.

In massages: it relieves from pain, in particular in gums. It is used as a pure powder or diluted with honey to apply directly in the mouth or mixed with some glycerin to relax tense body areas.

In broths: it stimulates digestion (the right dose: 1g per liter)

In pills: laboratories use an extract from the top part of the pistil having effect on neurotransmitters as a natural antidepressant. Where can you find it? In its natural form (threads or powder) from the producers.  

 

Saffron is a powerful dye too

Saffron's dyeing power is still used to give the golden yellow colour to cloth used for special purposes like Buddhist robes, the bride's veil in some countries of Maghreb, and above all in carpets as it is said to act as a moth repellent.

 

The famous Venetian blond of Italian renaissance women was obtained by coating their hair with a mixture of saffron and lemon, then staying out in the sun.

Français    English    Português  
 
 Español   Deutsche  
Montant du panier:
Vide 0.00
Frais d'expédition 0.00
Total à payer 0.00
Afficher le panier

Les bienfaits du safran

(Propriétés médicinales du safran)

Connu depuis l'Antiquité comme remède à tous les maux, le safran sans être un médicament  universel n'en reste pas moins une solution naturelle pour quelques problèmes de santé de notre temps.

 

En orient, le safran était couramment employé pour lutter contre la dépression légère à modérée, il avait la réputation d'apporter gaieté et sagesse. De part ce fait, on lui confère des qualités d’aphrodisiaque féminin.

 

Au Maroc, il entre dans la composition de remèdes de grand-mères qui soignent encore les nourrissons à l'arrivée des premières dents, en massant les gencives (usage externe: analgésique de la muqueuse gingivale.) des bébés avec une bague en or enduite de miel et de safran, une lotion naturellement antiseptique. En France, le célèbre sirop DELABARRE adopta la même recette. ...Les grand-mères apaisaient également les règles douloureuses des jeunes filles en leur donnant du thé ou du lait au safran...

 

Cette épice a longtemps été réputée pour remédier à de nombreuses affections. Elle serait l'un des végétaux les plus riches en riboflavine, c'est-à-dire en vitamine B2. Elle renferme à la fois l'huile essentielle, le safranal, et des crocétines, qui sont des caroténoïdes, soit de la pro-vitamine A.

 

Tandis que les pigments jouent un rôle de stimulant digestif (aux doses de 0.5 à 1 gramme par litre d'eau, le safran est un stimulant de la digestion), le safranal possède une activité sédative. De façon générale, le safran a la réputation d'agir sur le système nerveux : il serait à la fois analgésique et tonique.

 

Dans la médecine traditionnelle, on utilise la plante comme stomachique. Dans la médecine chinoise, on s'en sert comme calmant pour les crampes et l'asthme, il est aussi utilisé pour traiter les hématomes.

 

Il permet également de ralentir le rythme cardiaque ainsi que d'abaisser la pression artérielle ou encore de stimuler la respiration.

Il faciliterait la digestion, soulagerait le foie et serait aussi un fluidifiant du sang.

Consommé à très fortes doses, le safran peut devenir dangereux (> à 10g), il s'agit d'une hypothèse exceptionnelle car le dosage habituel est de 0.01 à 0.02 gramme par personne.


Essayez le:

En tisane: Le crocus sativus apaise la toux et soulage du rhume. Le bon dosage pour la tisane : de 0.5g à 1 g par litre d’eau.

En massage : Il soulage la douleur, notamment celle des gencives. On l’utilise en poudre pur ou mélangé à du miel, pour une application directe dans la bouche, ou bien mélangé à de la la glycérine pour dénouer les zones de tension du corps.

En bouillon : Il stimule la digestion( le bon dosage : 1 g par litre)

En comprimé : les laboratoires utilisent un extrait de la partie supérieure du pistil, qui agit sur les neuromédiateurs comme un antidépresseur naturel. Où le trouver ? Au naturel ( Filaments ou poudre) chez les producteurs-récoltants.

 

Le safran est aussi un puissant colorant

On utilise toujours le pouvoir tinctorial du safran pour colorer en jaune d’or certains tissus comme les robes des bouddhistes, les voiles des mariées dans certains pays du Maghreb, surtout dans les tapis puisqu’il aurait aussi un pouvoir antimite …

 

Le fameux blond vénitien des femmes de la renaissance italienne, était obtenu en s'enduisant les cheveux d'un mélange de Safran et de citron, puis en s'exposant au soleil.